Oops….I’ve forgotten about this Blog thing

I just realized today that I haven’t written a blog in well….almost 4 full months. A whole lot has happened. I’ll try and keep this short. 

Timeline & Order of Events

January: Longest break ever. We have a by the first week of play…so we don’t play until the third week of January. We continue to lose but start taking points off of the top teams. Progress? Yes! And of course, as luck has it, our outside tears her achilles tendon. Gross. There goes our reception. 

 

February: We have like 8 players on the team. All but two (including myself) are under the age of 20. If the struggle bus was real, we would be on it…..speeding without seatbelts because that’s how Greeks do it. Highlight of this month was the massive fight that broke out during one of the island matches because our coach was giving the crowd the finger…but he was really just telling us to serve zone one haha.  
 

March: Well first, I got deported. I went home for literally a weekend which was in all honesty, amazing; seeing the nuggets, surprising my best friend and sister, eating my mother’s food, drinking beer with my dad = absolutely priceless.  I had to go back to finish the season (even though if I had been caught, I would’ve been sent back to the USA – obviously the Greek passport control does not care whatsoever).  Finally we get to the end of the season! We finished up 6th place which is actually a miracle. I’m still not sure how it happened, but I’m not complaining. I said yasas to Greece and HELLOOOO ENGLAND! I now get to date my boyfriend and crush the long distance thing. The first week I was in the UK, I did absolutely nothing. No exercise (horrible idea), no waking up early (also not a great idea), no volleyball (I was okay with that), nothing. 
   

     

April: I officially decided to “not do nothing” because life is too short and well, it’s incredibly unproductive. I am unable to join a gym because I don’t have a UK bank account which sucks but thanks to Ms. Sarah Schall, I’ve got plenty of workouts that I can do in the living room or in the park. Speaking of the park, everyone walks their dogs (haven’t seen a mutt yet) in the park. From small yip yip dogs to huge fluffy ones, the park is the place to go. The people are super friendly here and so are their dogs. I will go to the park just to play with stranger’s dogs. No one minds though which is nice. 
  

Clay and I spent the week after Easter in France. I’m not sure there is a word to describe the sights that we saw. We met the nicest French people (never thought I’d say that), we had some GREAT wine, saw some crystal clear water, jumped off of a super tall snowcapped mountain, had fondue for dinner, and just soaked in the pure natural beauty that God blessed that country with. From Nice to Chamonix….it was definitely a trip for the books. 

   

              

 I got pretty tired of not playing volleyball (I knew it was going to happen). Unfortunately the sport is not very popular over here but I did find a couple clubs that offered to take me in and let me practice with the teams. There is something about this game that is just extraordinarily enjoyable. But it’s not just the game; the people who you get to play with immediately become people that you’ve known for years (even though it was only three hours) and you learn some lingo that other people use to explain areas of the game that you never really thought of. I seriously play the greatest sport ever and I’m constantly learning about it. I really don’t understand how a country that gets SO MUCH RAIN, doesn’t want to play a super fun indoor sport…I’m trying to help them out because honestly, what’s not to love about this game?

One of the ladies I met at a practice asked me to house/dog sit for her family! Everyone thinks that is so nutty but we knew each other for three full hours…that’s enough time right? And with my golden personality, I guess I look trustworthy! So I spent all of last week with her dog, Jake, and their house which was in another town. Cooked broccoli for the first time, WEIGHED ingredients for the first time, picked up dog poop for the first time…it was quite a lovely experience!!

This past weekend we did a full day hike through the Cotswolds which was amazing. We probably hiked around 15 miles total (got a little lost the first hike). Gorgeous day and the views were breathtaking. Spring is definitely here. 

   

       

My birthday is coming up which I’m super pumped about and a quick Germany trip! I’ll be a little better at keeping up with this blog thing, I promise. I want to plan one more trip that I’ll probably be going by myself…right now it’s a tie between Reykjavik, Iceland, Normandy, France, and Dublin, Ireland. Let me know if anyone has any suggestions 🙂

Whelp, that’s a wrap. New favorite English words are: Literally (pronounced lit-trally), rubbish (which means trash or something that’s not very good), and cheeky (an adjective that can be used before just about any noun, ex: Oh, that’s a cheeky hedge over there/ or to be used instead of sassy). Smell ya later, don’t forget to Carpe that Diem!!!

-Kristin

Leave a Reply

